We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Saturday, March 28, 2020

BENTON TOWNSHIP — The Texas Corral closed permanently in Benton Township due to a disagreement between the business owner and landlord of the property.

Friday, March 27, 2020

BENTON HARBOR — Benton Harbor officials learned Wednesday that the city needs to generate another $1.3 million each year to cover costs to operate and maintain the city’s water and sewer systems, along with current and proposed debt.

Wednesday, March 25, 2020

ST. JOSEPH — New Products Corp. is appealing a recent decision made by the Michigan Court of Appeals concerning who owns a strip of land at the 18th hole of the Golf Club at Harbor Shores in Benton Harbor.

Monday, March 23, 2020
Saturday, March 21, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020

BENTON HARBOR — Drivers will not be able to travel between Benton Harbor and St. Joseph via the Bicentennial Bridge most of today as workers for the Michigan Department of Transportation prepare to temporarily fix the flooding problem on the Benton Harbor side of the bridge.

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Before school districts shuttered their doors this week, administrators were working with the state to provide breakfast and lunch options for students in the event of a prolonged closure.

BENTON TOWNSHIP — Benton Township is awaiting the sale of two bonds to help pay for several water and sewer system projects planned for 2020.

Tuesday, March 17, 2020

BENTON HARBOR — Benton Harbor city commissioners voted Monday to postpone all water disconnections and to reconnect households where the water has been shut off until the health crisis caused by the COVID-19 virus is over.

Monday, March 16, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020

BENTON HARBOR — A first-grade teacher at International Academy at Hull resigned Monday after video surfaced on social media over the weekend of her allegedly allowing a student to be physically bullied by other students in her classroom while she watched.

Friday, March 06, 2020

BENTON HARBOR — Benton Harbor Cemetery Board members recently found out that there is still no plan in place to bring on a new manager of Crystal Springs Cemetery, even though the current manager is leaving in less than two weeks.

Thursday, March 05, 2020

ST. JOSEPH — The man who allegedly attacked a St. Joseph High School senior at the school on Feb. 20 was arraigned Wednesday on the felony charge of assault by strangulation.

Wednesday, March 04, 2020

BENTON HARBOR — Even though almost $15 million in water and sewer work in Benton Harbor won’t start until late August, more than 50 trees need to be removed before April 1 to protect two types of endangered or threatened bats.

BENTON HARBOR — After years of discussion, Jayme Cousins and Abel Martinez are in the early stages of moving Mason Jar Cafe.

Tuesday, March 03, 2020

BENTON HARBOR — The long-awaited academic and financial operating plan that could improve the fortunes of Benton Harbor Area Schools is almost ready to be rolled out, with its first presentation to be March 17 in front of Benton Harbor school board trustees at Benton Harbor High School.

Monday, March 02, 2020

St. Joseph native Paul Gillespie has been helping get people where they want to go in one way or another since the early 1990s, when he started driving a cab in San Francisco and worked his way up to managing the Yellow Cab of San Francisco, where he was in charge of 500 vehicles and more th…

Friday, February 28, 2020

BENTON HARBOR — The Boys & Girls Clubs of Benton Harbor 2020 Junior Youth of the Year, Tommie Ellis, said he was very shy and somewhat depressed when he first became a member of the club in 2012.

BENTON HARBOR — “We demand justice,” was a recurring theme Thursday as family and friends showed support for a St. Joseph High School senior who was allegedly assaulted at the school Feb. 20.

Thursday, February 27, 2020

BENTON HARBOR — Members of the Benton Harbor Cemetery Board still don’t know who is going to manage Crystal Springs Cemetery after the current manager leaves in less than three weeks.

Wednesday, February 26, 2020

BENTON HARBOR — Benton Harbor native Dashuna Robinson was not only appointed Tuesday as the newest trustee on the Benton Harbor school board, but she was named the board’s secretary.

Monday, February 24, 2020

BENTON HARBOR — Benton Harbor Area Schools’ new superintendent, Andrae Townsel, said he feels like he inherited a gold mine looking back at his first week on the job, which ended last Friday with a visit from State Superintendent Michael Rice.

Friday, February 21, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020

BENTON HARBOR — Benton Harbor Mayor Marcus Muhammad said Tuesday that the Dec. 28 arrest of a Benton Harbor man will be thoroughly investigated after more than 10 citizens complained that the man was beaten by the arresting officer.

Friday, February 14, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020

BENTON HARBOR — The Benton Harbor Tiger Marching Band received $500 Tuesday thanks to the healthy food choices of students and staff at the high school.

Monday, February 10, 2020

DOWAGIAC — Helping teens and young adults find their purpose in life has become the passion of Benton Harbor native Michelle Tyner, admissions counselor at Southwestern Michigan College in Dowagiac.

Friday, February 07, 2020
Thursday, February 06, 2020
Wednesday, February 05, 2020