We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Friday, October 11, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Could the chicken issue be coming back for discussion in Oronoko Township? A local resident hopes so, but didn’t get any encouragement from the township board this week.

Thursday, October 10, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — The M-139 sewer extension project to the north side of the U.S. 31 freeway has gotten more expensive in recent months, but Oronoko Township Supervisor Mike Hildebrand reassured board members that it is still moving forward.

Tuesday, October 08, 2019

 BERRIEN SPRINGS — Berrien Springs-Oronoko Township police faced everything from floods to crime to routine calls in 2018, Police Chief Paul Toliver told Berrien Springs Village Council members Monday.

Wednesday, October 02, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — It doesn’t solve everything, but a new proposed Oronoko Township ordinance will go a long way toward solving issues related to accessory storage buildings.

Friday, September 27, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — It was a day to celebrate all things related to health and wellness Thursday with the ribbon cutting for the new Andreasen Center for Wellness on the Andrews University campus.

Thursday, September 26, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Bicycle safety is important to Berrien Township resident John Sexton, especially after his friend and fellow bicyclist Todd Harrington was killed in a crash last September on Pokagon Highway.

Tuesday, September 24, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — A community open house on the progress of a proposed walking/biking trail from Niles to Berrien Springs will be held from 4:30 to 6 p.m. Wednesday at the Berrien Springs Community Library 215 W. Union Street, held by Be Healthy Berrien, the Berrien County Health Department …

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — A second open house for the proposed expansion of the Indiana-Michigan River Valley Trail will be held Sept. 25 in Berrien Springs. That news came Monday from Kris Martin of the Southwest Michigan Planning Commission at the Berrien Springs Village Council meeting.

Saturday, September 14, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — As next year’s start of construction on nearly $20 million worth of projects grows nearer, Berrien Springs school board members are facing decisions on whether they will cut back on costs to keep everything under budget or agree to contribute money from the district’s gener…

Thursday, September 12, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Over 800 rental units were registered under Oronoko Township’s new rental housing ordinance by the late August deadline. Township Supervisor Mike Hildebrand said this week that the township has received 331 applications registering 842 units.

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — The Oronoko Township Board has revised the police department’s response protocol for calls in nearby Berrien Township. The new rules amend the policy that has been in place for 10 years.

Sunday, September 08, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — For President Donald Trump’s critics, the threat of a trade war with China or some other nation offers fresh evidence that he doesn’t understand the global marketplace.

Wednesday, September 04, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019

Ex-WNBA player speaking Saturday

Thursday, August 29, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Mystery, adventure, government machinations, and above everything else a lot of history, can be found in Taras Lyssenko’s new book, “The Great Navy Birds of Lake Michigan.” The book’s subtitle is “The True Story of the Privateers of Lake Michigan and the Aircraft They Rescued.”

Wednesday, August 28, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — The number of Berrien County Youth Fair attendees this year dipped slightly compared to 2018.

Tuesday, August 27, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Andrews University student Jeremy Barrett planned to fully move into the Berrien Springs apartment he shared with his sister Sunday morning.

Saturday, August 24, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — The Berrien Springs Board of Education is taking a different approach to planning and goals this year. Instead of adopting an action agenda, as they’ve done most years, board members have set five goals for not only this year. but the next three years.

Saturday, August 17, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Showing animals at the Berrien County Youth Fair is a sweet experience for some and a bittersweet experience for others.

Friday, August 16, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — This year the fair’s historical building took a different route in honoring the rich farming history in Berrien County.

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Oronoko Township landlords will have to pay a late fee if they fail to register their rental properties by Aug. 30. Township officials adopted a new rental housing ordinance in June which included an application form and registration fee schedule.

Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Sunday, August 11, 2019
Saturday, August 10, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Berrien Springs High School Principal Ryan Pesce wasn’t at Thursday’s Berrien Springs Board of Education meeting and no member of the public was there to question the board about him, but Board President Paul Toliver still took time to address what he called “news reports a…

Friday, August 09, 2019

• The Berrien County Youth Fair enforces a no smoking policy. There is no smoking allowed on the fairgrounds except in designated parking lots.

Animals, plants, crafts, baked goods, rides and grandstand performances will make for a fun-filled week Aug. 12-17.

To honor the rich farming history in Berrien County, the historical building will feature information on the ways that produce travels from farm to plate.

Tuesday, August 06, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Berrien Springs Village Council members approved infrastructure work at their meeting Monday and will be talking about it again at a workshop session later this month.

Monday, August 05, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Dozens of area residents opened up their wallets Sunday in an ongoing effort to build tiny homes for those in need.

Saturday, July 27, 2019

CASSOPOLIS — A May motorcycle crash near Marcellus has led to criminal charges against Berrien Springs High School Principal Ryan Pesce. Pesce was in Cass County District Court on Thursday on drunken driving charges, as well as a charge for carrying a weapon while intoxicated.

Friday, July 26, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Thursday’s Berrien Springs school board meeting featured new board officers and new district goals for the 2019-20 school year.

Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Saturday, July 13, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — A staple at the Berrien County Youth Fair has always been Rides Wristband Days during fair week, where on certain days and times fairgoers can ride the rides unlimited for one price. Again this year, “every day will be Rides Wristband Day,” says Executive Director Karen Klug.

Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Thursday, July 04, 2019
Tuesday, July 02, 2019
Sunday, June 30, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Contract details haven’t been finalized yet, but Berrien Springs Village Council members went on record Monday that they want to iron out an agreement with the Berrien Springs Boat Club to provide residents with kayak and canoe access to Lake Chapin.

Saturday, June 22, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Addison and Lillian Zizkovsky spent the last two days learning the ins and outs of law enforcement.

BERRIEN SPRINGS — Berrien Springs school board members remain very pleased with the performance of Superintendent Dave Eichberg, voting Thursday to give Eichberg a salary increase and salary extension.

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

ST. JOSEPH — A tearful Sarah Kurtz turned to face her victims Monday in a Berrien County courtroom and apologized to them, then apologized to her family and friends also in the courtroom.