We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Wednesday, August 07, 2019

BRIDGMAN — Not long after voters legalized recreational pot use, Bridgman opted out of allowing such businesses. But at the time it also promised to further study the issue, and Monday council members seemed to set in motion a way forward.

BRIDGMAN — Changes are on the way for a Bridgman company that has worked hand in hand with metal casters for more than 40 years.

Sunday, August 04, 2019

BRIDGMAN — Lake Side Fit is making the most of its surroundings by offering classes that take advantage of the nearby Weko Beach.

Wednesday, July 31, 2019

BRIDGMAN — A Bridgman resident was shot during a fight that stemmed from an alleged home invasion early Tuesday morning in what is being described by police as a domestic altercation.

Friday, July 05, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019

BRIDGMAN — Bridgman residents likely face an upcoming $15-$20 sewer rate increase, Bridgman city council members said this week at its workshop meeting.  

Sunday, June 02, 2019

BRIDGMAN — The Makers Trail Festival will take place from 3-9 p.m. this upcoming Saturday at Weko Beach in Bridgman, with more than 15 Berrien County wineries, breweries and distilleries and three live bands, according to a news release.

Friday, May 24, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019

BRIDGMAN — Michigan State Police troopers responded to a car crash that left a driver and passenger with serious injuries.

Saturday, May 11, 2019
Friday, April 19, 2019

BRIDGMAN — A major renovation project is underway at Warren Dunes State Park near Bridgman, but visitors can still get into some areas as work is underway.

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

BRIDGMAN — A girl who last week told police a man had tried to abduct her near a park in Bridgman now has told police she made up the story.

Wednesday, April 03, 2019

BRIDGMAN — The resolution of access to the Warren Dunes State Park’s dog beach from Bridgman’s Weko Beach is still being worked out with the state, but Bridgman Mayor Vince Rose made it clear that the city’s leash law will be strictly enforced, no matter what.

Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019

BRIDGMAN — Before a standing-room-only crowd, the Bridgman City Council on Monday said it is not going to make an immediate decision on an ordinance about allowing dogs at Weko Beach.

Monday, March 18, 2019

BRIDGMAN — Jean Marie Woods of Bridgman doesn’t think of herself as a very good seamstress. 

Thursday, March 07, 2019

BRIDGMAN – Changes for both man and beast are coming to Weko Beach this season.

Thursday, February 21, 2019

BRIDGMAN — In the event a medical emergency in Bridgman requires a helicopter transport, Bridgman now has a designated landing zone.

Monday, February 04, 2019

BRIDGMAN — For the past 24 years one man has more or less been the voice of Cook Nuclear Plant. 

Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019

BENTON HARBOR — There are many things employees take for granted on an everyday basis.

Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 03, 2019

BRIDGMAN — It was a family affair Wednesday as Heidi Southard’s parents and children helped hand out food at the Caring Cupboard Mobile Food Pantry, organized through Woodland Shores Baptist Church in Bridgman.

Thursday, December 20, 2018

BRIDGMAN — Mike and Jennifer Stone are the perfect combination to own and operate a restaurant.

Wednesday, December 19, 2018

BRIDGMAN — Bridgman Schools Superintendent Shane Peters received a three-year extension of his current contract through June 2021, along with a highly effective rating in a unanimous vote from the board of education on Monday.

Sunday, December 09, 2018

BRIDGMAN — There’s a lot to like at Warren Dunes State Park, and a lot of people like the park.

Wednesday, December 05, 2018

 BRIDGMAN — Bridgman has joined the growing list of communities taking a “wait and see” approach to the sale of recreational marijuana.

Sunday, November 11, 2018

SAWYER — Chikaming Open Lands buys land and carves trails.

BRIDGMAN — When people come into Small Town Grounds in downtown Bridgman, says Eric Heward, a comment often made is, “We needed a coffee shop.”

Friday, November 09, 2018

ST. JOSEPH — Berrien County commissioners on Thursday got a look at the final proposal for a park and biking/hiking trail along Red Arrow Highway from Bridgman to New Buffalo.

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018

ST. JOSEPH — Cornerstone Chamber of Commerce and Greater Bridgman Chamber & Growth Alliance (CGA) agreed to an affiliation agreement Thursday, integrating both organizations into one.

Thursday, October 04, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018

ST. JOSEPH — A man who is accused of conspiring with another man to give false information to police after his dog bit a little boy has been bound over for trial.

Monday, September 17, 2018

BRIDGMAN — After a decade worth of use, Lake Township Clerk Bob Clark thought the municipality’s disc golf course could use some retooling.

Friday, September 14, 2018

ST. JOSEPH — St. Joseph Public Schools are considered the 19th best school district in Michigan this year, according to a school ranking website.

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

BRIDGMAN — Following a lengthy investigation into a Bridgman child being bitten by a dog, charges are now being sought against the father of the victim and owner of the dog.

Wednesday, August 08, 2018

BARODA — Baroda Township’s request for a $2.8 million bond issue to fund a new fire station was defeated by a mere 16 votes in Tuesday’s election.

Monday, August 06, 2018

BRIDGMAN — Weko Beach is getting to be one popular destination, and the city has been pulling out the stops to get a grip on the traffic.

Friday, August 03, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018

BRIDGMAN — Bridgman police are asking for the public’s help in identifying a woman whose dog, according to police, attacked a young child Sunday. The child was taken to the hospital and now is recovering at home.

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

BRIDGMAN — Chris Betts is responsible for the most well-attended dog birthday party each year.

BRIDGMAN — Ken Schiffer is nothing like the precision robots he sells. That’s because Schiffer’s daily schedule is anything but repetitive or routine, as one gradually appreciates during a conversation with him.

BRIDGMAN — When Kelly Ferneau was growing up in Huntington, Ind., her step-father always called her into the garage when he was working on the lawn mower or the car. 

BRIDGMAN — Cousins Lauren Kniebes and Melanie Owen just get each other. 

Thursday, July 19, 2018