We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Wednesday, August 07, 2019

DOWAGIAC — An era will soon be ending at Southwestern Michigan College as President David Mathews announced Tuesday that he will retire at the end of the year.

Tuesday, August 06, 2019

DOWAGIAC — Police are continuing to investigate a double shooting in Dowagiac over the weekend, but evidence so far points to murder-suicide, Dowagiac police said Monday.

Monday, August 05, 2019

DOWAGIAC — A husband and wife are dead following a shooting in Dowagiac over the weekend.

Sunday, July 28, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019

DOWAGIAC — Brian DeLong is passionate about Dowagiac and Southwest Michigan, whether it’s economic development and attracting more people to the area, or serving people’s spiritual needs as a minister.

Saturday, June 22, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019

DOWAGIAC — The Dowagiac Board of Education has chosen Jonathon Whan as the district’s new superintendent. Whan, now the superintendent of the Grant, Mich. school district, was one of three finalists interviewed Monday night.

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

DOWAGIAC — Southwestern Michigan College board members have approved a conservative budget for the 2019-20 year that expects flat enrollment and a small increase in state aid.

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

DOWAGIAC — Southwestern Michigan College and its faculty union remain far apart in contract negotiations despite having 27 individual tentative agreements. The two sides have been meeting with state mediators over the last two months.

DOWAGIAC — A man who was confronted by police after they saw him riding a bicycle at night with no lights or reflective clothing turned out to be wanted on several warrants.

Thursday, May 30, 2019

CASSOPOLIS — A Flint area woman who left her dogs inside her car while she gambled at the Four Winds Casino in Dowagiac has pleaded guilty to three counts of attempted animal killing or torturing. She will be sentenced June 28 in Cass County Circuit Court.

Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Sunday, April 28, 2019

DOWAGIAC — As she gets set to graduate from Southwestern Michigan College on Saturday, honor student Emily Fellows believes her college experience has prepared her well for her next venture. She will be attending Grand Valley State University in the fall to pursue a bachelor’s degree in elem…

Thursday, April 25, 2019

DOWAGIAC — Three people from Indiana were arrested after police were called to a fight at an apartment complex in Dowagiac Tuesday.

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

DOWAGIAC — A Dowagiac man was arrested Friday night after he allegedly fled from police before being caught with drugs. He also did not have a valid driver’s license, police said.

Friday, April 19, 2019

DOWAGIAC — After months of negotiations have failed to produce a new contract with the college’s full-time faculty, Southwestern Michigan College officials are asking for mediation.

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

DOWAGIAC — The Dowagiac Union School District will soon have a new superintendent. Current Superintendent Paul Hartsig announced his resignation in late March and had it formally accepted by the Board of Education at a special meeting this week.

Thursday, April 04, 2019

DOWAGIAC — Simon Pokagon was called a “showboat” by some during his life, but his writings show that he was both a prophet and a chronicler of Native American history and lore.

Wednesday, April 03, 2019

DOWAGIAC — The city’s 19th annual Easter Eggstravaganza will be held this coming Saturday at City Hall Park, city officials said in a news release.

Sunday, March 10, 2019

DOWAGIAC — Giving back is important to Dowagiac resident and businessman Brian Antisdel. He’s turned his life around the last few years and now has dedicated his life to helping others.

Wednesday, February 27, 2019

DOWAGIAC — Tuition and other fees will be going up this fall at Southwestern Michigan College after action this week by the college board of trustees.

Saturday, February 23, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019

DOWAGIAC — A woman shopping at a Dowagiac liquor store found out the hard way Saturday that leaving your car running while it is unattended can end badly.

Wednesday, February 13, 2019

CASSOPOLIS — Cass County is losing its second administrator in less than a month. Just weeks after County Administrator Karen Folks resigned her position, Interim County Administrator Angie Steinman has announced she’s leaving to take another position.

Wednesday, February 06, 2019

DOWAGIAC — Southwestern Michigan College students will have a new degree option this fall that focuses on entrepreneurship. SMC Business and Advanced Technology School Dean Stacy Young reported on the new degree at Monday’s board meeting.

Tuesday, February 05, 2019

DOWAGIAC — Southwestern Michigan College’s lawsuit against the state Office of Auditor General may be over, but the issues at the heart of the matter remain unresolved for Tom Buszek, a persistent critic of SMC’s leadership.

Thursday, January 31, 2019

DOWAGIAC — The annual Ice-Time Festival takes place this Saturday in downtown Dowagiac with a variety of activities on tap. People can watch carvers create unique ice sculptures, as well as enjoy other events such as wood carving, the annual frozen fish throw, campfires and a chili cookoff.

Friday, January 25, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019

DOWAGIAC — A new era in nursing education was launched Wednesday with the opening of Southwestern Michigan College’s expanded nursing building. The revamped facility allows nursing students to enhance their education through the use of new simulation and skills labs.

Thursday, January 03, 2019

DOWAGIAC — New legislation signed by Gov. Rick Snyder late last week has vindicated Southwestern Michigan College in its fight against the state over state teacher retirement pension contributions for part-time student workers, SMC President David Mathews said Wednesday.

Monday, December 31, 2018

DOWAGIAC — A proposal to acquire land to link existing trails in Dowagiac looks to be on schedule to get a Michigan Natural Resources Trust Fund grant in 2019.

DOWAGIAC — 2018 was an eventful year at Southwestern Michigan College. The faculty formed a union, the college sued a state agency and former college dean Elaine Foster was elected to the board of trustees. Work also continued on the nursing building expansion, and new programs and partnersh…

Friday, December 28, 2018

DOWAGIAC — The Dowagiac extended community was in mourning Thursday as news came that Patrick Hamilton Elementary School Principal Heather Nash has died.

Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Saturday, December 15, 2018

DOWAGIAC — The city of Dowagiac is spending $12,000 on a new study of the city’s housing market. The housing study comes on the heels of a new retail market study completed earlier this fall.

Sunday, December 09, 2018

DOWAGIAC — A survey of Southwestern Michigan College staff this fall reveals employees concerned about divisions among staff and administrators, faculty unionization and enrollment declines.

Friday, December 07, 2018

DOWAGIAC — Dowagiac and the Dowagiac Union schools have reached an agreement that paves the way for improvements in and around the high school on the city’s south side.

Sunday, December 02, 2018

DOWAGIAC — Michael Frazier closes the 2018 Fall Lecture Series at the Dowagiac Area History Museum on Wednesday with “A History of Dowagiac Schools from A to Z.”

Thursday, November 29, 2018

DOWAGIAC — For the second straight year, a member of the Symonds family has completed an Eagle Scout project that benefits Dowagiac.

Saturday, November 24, 2018

DOWAGIAC — Southwestern Michigan College officials are making it clear that marijuana won’t be allowed on their campuses despite the passage of the statewide recreational marijuana ballot initiative earlier this month.

Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Thursday, November 08, 2018

DOWAGIAC — Voters took a second look at a tax proposal to expand the Dowagiac District Library, and they liked what they saw.

Wednesday, November 07, 2018

DOWAGIAC — It looks like Cass County voters gave a split verdict when it came to electing people to the Southwestern Michigan College Board of Trustees.

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

DOWAGIAC — A new Dowagiac-area retail market study shows opportunities for growth and expansion, city officials say.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Saturday, October 27, 2018

DOWAGIAC — Two people were arrested on drug charges and warrants after police performed a parole check in Dowagiac on Thursday.

Sunday, October 21, 2018

DOWAGIAC – The race for two six-year seats on the Southwestern Michigan College Board of Trustees has been a contentious one.

DOWAGIAC — Dowagiac District Library officials are hoping a better marketing campaign about their proposed $7.4 million expansion will secure a 1-mill levy in the Nov. 6 election. 

Thursday, October 18, 2018

DOWAGIAC — People interested in becoming a paralegal can get training through a new program at Southwestern Michigan College. The program is set to start next fall.