We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Monday, June 03, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019

HARTFORD — State agencies have been aware of contaminants at the former Du-Wel Products plant in Hartford since the company was in operation.

PAW PAW — After hearing a report about PFAS contamination in Hartford, Van Buren County commissioners on Tuesday expressed concern there may be PFAS contamination in Bangor.

Saturday, May 11, 2019

HARTFORD — The day after it was announced that the state is testing residential wells near the former Du-Wel Products plant in Hartford for PFAS, a former plant employee said he’s not suprised, claiming the company carelessly dumped chemicals for years.

Friday, May 10, 2019

HARTFORD — The former Du-Wel Metal Products plating facility in Hartford has been identified as being contaminated by PFAS, according to state Rep. Beth Griffin, prompting state officials to conduct more testing that will start today.

Thursday, April 04, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Sunday, January 27, 2019

In the last two years the Amish population in Van Buren County has gone from virtually zero to an estimated couple of hundred families.

Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019

HARTFORD — Sewer rates and whether or not to opt out of allowing recreational marijuana facilities will be among the topics at the Hartford City Commission’s workshop meeting tonight. 

Monday, January 14, 2019

HARTFORD — Counselors and social workers will be on hand this morning at Coloma Elementary School to help students process the Saturday death of one of their classmates.

Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018

HARTFORD — The Hartford Public Library will have a new home by this time next year if all goes according to plan.

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

HARTFORD — The application for a medical marijuana growing facility at the Hartford Speedway is still lacking requirements for completion. 

Wednesday, October 03, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018

HARTFORD — People exiting off I-94 in Hartford could one day be greeted with stores, more restaurants, apartment buildings and a lake. 

Saturday, September 15, 2018

HARTFORD — The Hartford Planning Commission was busy this week recommending the medical marijuana grow operation at the Hartford Speedway and the rezoning for a 111-acre commercial development. 

Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Tuesday, September 04, 2018
Sunday, August 26, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Wednesday, August 08, 2018

A newcomer has knocked off a longtime county commissioner during Tuesday’s Republican primary in Van Buren County.

Saturday, July 28, 2018

PAW PAW — A Van Buren County Circuit Court jury found Gerrie Heskett not guilty of embezzling between $50,000 and $100,000 after several days of deliberations.

Friday, July 27, 2018

HARTFORD — Here are more results from the Van Buren County Youth Fair, which took place July 14-21 at the fairgrounds near Hartford.

Friday, July 20, 2018

PAW PAW — The former Hartford Township cemetery sexton took the stand in her own defense Thursday in Van Buren County Circuit Court. 

Thursday, July 19, 2018

DETROIT — An insurance company refused to pay $300,000 in a head-on crash that killed a Watervliet man and his mother after a doctor came up with a key conclusion: Robert Krugman likely drifted out of his lane because of a heart attack.

Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018

HARTFORD — Another medical marijuana facility is in the works for Hartford. 

Thursday, May 17, 2018

HARTFORD — Students in Hartford say they’re a little more prepared for what comes after high school thanks to the Jobs for Michigan’s Graduates (JMG) program.

Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Wednesday, April 25, 2018

PAW PAW — One Van Buren County commissioner will face a challenger during the August primary and one other will not seek re-election. 

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

HARTFORD — Several more things need to be done before the Hartford City Commission can approve the application for a marijuana facility. 

Friday, April 20, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Friday, April 06, 2018
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Sunday, March 25, 2018

BENTON TOWNSHIP — Medic 1 is getting a pay raise.

It’s been nearly a decade since Watervliet left Medic 1.

Friday, March 16, 2018

SOUTH HAVEN — There are a lot of documents to pore over and testimony to consider before the case of a former Hartford Township employee accused of embezzlement can be dismissed or moved along.

Tuesday, February 27, 2018