We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Friday, April 03, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — As South Haven History Club members saw their classmates’ state competitions canceled one by one this spring due to the coronavirus outbreak, they began to wonder whether their contest, too, would be curtailed.

Thursday, April 02, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Before school districts shuttered their doors this week, administrators were working with the state to provide breakfast and lunch options for students in the event of a prolonged closure.

Monday, March 09, 2020
Saturday, March 07, 2020
Thursday, March 05, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — Shipwreck hunter Ross Richardson will speak March 25 at the Michigan Maritime Museum in South Haven as part of the museum’s Maritime Lecture Series, Shipwrecks & Lighthouses.

Wednesday, March 04, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — March not only signals the beginning of spring in South Haven, but more importantly, to ice cream lovers it signifies the annual re-opening of Sherman’s Dairy Bar.

Friday, February 21, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Thursday, February 06, 2020
Wednesday, February 05, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — City leaders estimate it could cost upwards of $17 million to deal with the damage to beaches, roadways, marinas and infrastructure caused by record-high water levels on Lake Michigan.

Tuesday, February 04, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — When the Blue Star Mothers of Southwest Michigan decided to enter Ice Breaker festival’s chili cookoff this past weekend, they had no idea their recipe would end up winning first place in the service club category. But the club earned more than a trophy. It received much-needed…

Thursday, January 30, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — First responders at South Haven Area Emergency Services now have much more capable commercial cleaning equipment that decontaminates carcinogens from bunker gear and prevents cross contamination with other laundry thanks to grants from three industries and a bank.

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN – When Bronson South Haven Hospital’s Safe Kids Coordinator Pam Ford went to North Shore Upper Elementary School on Monday to talk to students about vehicle safety, she made sure to bring a car booster seat with her to ask youngsters what they thought of it.

SOUTH HAVEN — The National Blueberry Festival continues to reign as South Haven’s most popular festival, but Ice Breaker remains hot on its heels when it comes to attracting a crowd.

Friday, January 24, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — When Catina Quinn’s husband, Alan, 34, called her from work New Year’s Eve and said he had some numbness and tingling on his left side, she never would have dreamed that the next 24 hours would change their lives forever.

Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — For more than a decade a piece of property in the heart of the city’s central business district sat vacant – the historic church that once dominated the site was condemned in 2007 and finally torn down.

Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — High water levels on Lake Michigan and the Black River could end up costing the city of South Haven millions of dollars.

Saturday, January 11, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — When contractors erect the last steel beam for the new Bronson South Haven Hospital it will mark a special moment for doctors and staff.

SOUTH HAVEN — Two popular Southwest Michigan restaurants and their owner say they have reached a settlement with a federal agency that accused them of short-changing pay for some of their employees.

Wednesday, January 08, 2020
Tuesday, January 07, 2020
Thursday, January 02, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — A decade ago, South Haven Township homeowner Mark Odland paid for construction of a large revetment wall to protect his lakefront property and beach from erosion.

Tuesday, December 31, 2019

SOUTH HAVEN — South Haven area residents and visitors will ring in a new decade with music, dancing and what is fast becoming the town’s signature New Year’s Eve event – the midnight beach ball drop.

SOUTH HAVEN — Most South Haven residents are unlikely to forget the year 2019.

Saturday, December 21, 2019

SOUTH HAVEN — When Sherman’s Dairy Bar decided in May to stop producing its trademark ice cream varieties, some people wondered if the popular parlor would also close.

Friday, December 20, 2019

SOUTH HAVEN — A popular post circulating on Facebook is beginning to convince many that the holiday season is truly a wonderful time of the year.

SOUTH HAVEN — A school administrator from the Grand Haven area will take on a new role at South Haven High School as its assistant principal.

Thursday, December 19, 2019

SOUTH HAVEN — Earlier this year, City Manager Brian Dissette thought it might take two or three times to apply for and receive a grant to help pay for a new playground structure to replace the popular but aging wooden one at Kids Corner Park.

COVERT — Nuclear fission and boric acid.

Wednesday, December 18, 2019

SOUTH HAVEN — South Haven has some great assets – a vibrant downtown that overlooks Lake Michigan, access to 14 recreational trails, close proximity to major highways and educational institutions and a small but competitive manufacturing base.