We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020

PAW PAW — A former finance director for the city of South Haven has been sentenced to a minimum of nine months in jail after pleading guilty in 36th Circuit Court to embezzlement of $100,00 or more from the city.

Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — The nearly weeklong search to recover the body of an 18-year-old man who drowned off of South Beach has come to an end.

Saturday, September 12, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — In the wake of the third drowning death of the season in Lake Michigan off South Haven’s North and South beaches, along with more than a half-dozen water rescues this summer, South Haven officials are considering if there is more they can do to promote the safety of swimmers at…

Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 09, 2020
Tuesday, September 08, 2020
Sunday, September 06, 2020
Friday, September 04, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — Fear of spreading coronavirus may have stopped some school districts in Southwest Michigan from opening their doors for in-person learning this week, but it hasn’t stopped people from visiting South Haven this summer.

Thursday, September 03, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — As court proceedings get underway this month for a South Haven man charged with killing his wife in August, family and friends who knew the couple have expressed disbelief in the wake of the woman’s death.

Wednesday, September 02, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — Sherman Dairy Bar Manager Marty O’Connor had little hope police would find the people who vandalized the popular eatery’s two outdoor statues – Blue Moo and Baby Blue – sometime in the early morning hours of Monday.

Monday, August 31, 2020
Saturday, August 29, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — Even though the coronavirus pandemic has slowed down the economy, here and elsewhere, it is not stopping South Haven’s vision for redeveloping what was once an old factory site into a residential complex to provide a variety of affordable housing options.

SOUTH HAVEN — The driver of a vehicle was airlifted to the hospital Monday evening after being involved in a serious crash with another vehicle.

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — A 36-year-old South Haven man is in the Van Buren County Jail and has been charged with homicide in the death of a woman last week.

Thursday, August 20, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — A worker from a South Haven construction company died Wednesday morning while working on a home-building project on Lakeshore Drive in Casco Township, according to police.

SOUTH HAVEN — South Haven Board of Education members have given thumbs up to Superintendent Kevin Schooley’s job performance by extending his contract three years, but they stopped short of giving him a raise.

SOUTH HAVEN — After several months of negotiations, South Haven Public Schools administrators and the teachers union have hammered out a new contract.

Wednesday, August 19, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — With applications starting to trickle in to fill the city manager position, officials are taking the next step in the hiring process by selecting a committee to interview candidates.

Friday, August 14, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — Seven years ago, Jonas and Dimitri Agdanowski took up the hobby of rock collecting. Since that time their hobby has morphed into a family-run business specializing in fine minerals, polished stones, jewelry, gem trees, fossils – just about anything a rock collector would love to see.

Thursday, August 13, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — While some public school districts throughout Southwest Michigan plan to begin the school year with students and teachers returning to the classroom, South Haven Public Schools has made the decision, initially, to begin the school year with only online instruction.

Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Saturday, August 08, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — For the past eight years, the South Haven Steelheaders, American Legion and Operation Injured Soldiers have teamed up to take veterans, injured in war, out on Lake Michigan for a day of fishing as part of the annual Salute to Veterans celebration.

Wednesday, August 05, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — South Haven’s class of 2020 may consider their final year of high school as a lost one due to widespread efforts to stop the spread of the coronavirus, but a group of other students is ensuring this year’s senior class will not be forgotten.

Saturday, August 01, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Saturday, July 18, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — Despite a hard freeze in May and a week’s worth of hot, humid 90-degree weather earlier this month, Michigan’s blueberry harvest is expected to be a good one, according to a Southwest Michigan fruit production educator.

Thursday, July 16, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — Authorities have released the name of the 20-year-old man from Lansing who is now presumed drowned after going into heavy Lake Michigan surf on Sunday night to swim.

Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 09, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — City officials in South Haven got an unexpected boost in funding to help pay for much-needed repairs and upgrades to a municipal marina that has been adversely affected by the near-record water levels on the Black River for the past two boating seasons.

Wednesday, July 08, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — With former city manager Brian Dissette’s departure July 1 to become Berrien County’s new administrator, officials in South Haven are on the fast track to find his replacement.

Wednesday, July 01, 2020

SOUTH HAVEN — A 21-year-old Covert man accused of shooting multiple times at a home last week occupied by a family faces seven felony charges, including assault with intent to murder.

Saturday, June 27, 2020

Daniel Jackson spends much of his time focusing on soccer. The 2007 South Haven High School graduate earned all-state honors his senior year and now plays professionally for the United Soccer League’s South Georgia Tormenta team in Statesboro, Ga.