We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Friday, June 11, 2021
Thursday, June 10, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — As the COVID-19 pandemic slows down and a sense of normalcy returns to the South Haven area, a new event commemorating a historic milestone has emerged – a Juneteenth celebration.

Tuesday, June 08, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — Residents and businesses in the South Haven area experienced a nearly 10-hour electrical outage this past weekend after a tree fell on a voltage line.

Friday, June 04, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — A South Haven developer is interested in creating a large development that will provide more retail and residential units downtown, as well as public parking, green space and public restrooms.

Thursday, June 03, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — South Haven Area Emergency Services and the Michigan State Fire Marshall’s office have concluded their investigation into the cause of last week’s house explosion in South Haven Township that claimed the life of a woman and left her husband in critical condition.

Wednesday, June 02, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — Three years ago, Detroit-based ACM Senior Living bought Countryside Nursing Home in South Haven as part of its plans to create Graceway Rehabilitation and Skilled Nursing, a new brand of nursing home facilities the company hoped to start throughout the Midwest.

Thursday, May 27, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — Investigators spent the better part of Wednesday morning trying to determine the cause of a house explosion that claimed the life of a 64-year-old woman and left her husband in critical condition.

Wednesday, May 26, 2021
Tuesday, May 25, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — After meeting for nearly six months, the South Haven Beach Safety Committee has put together a number of recommendations to make city-owned beaches safer for swimmers.

Saturday, May 22, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — A year and eight months after construction began, the $22 million Bronson South Haven Hospital is set to open its doors next week to the public.

Friday, May 21, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — Record-high water levels of 2020 that flooded its campus, along with the COVID-19 health restrictions, put the skids on the Michigan Maritime Museum’s expansion plans.

Thursday, May 20, 2021
Tuesday, May 18, 2021
Friday, May 14, 2021

As summer draws closer, South Haven first responders are turning their attention to beefing up water safety measures on Lake Michigan, especially in light of three drownings that occurred off local beaches in 2020.

Thursday, May 13, 2021
Wednesday, May 12, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — As more people receive their second dose of the COVID-19 vaccine, a sense of normalcy is slowly beginning to return to the South Haven area, and with that comes something else – summertime events.

Friday, May 07, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — While South Haven is in the process of completing an estimated $500,000 in street improvements this year, city officials are beginning to look toward next year’s projects.

Thursday, May 06, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — Voters in the South Haven Public School district approved a $34.85 million bond issue that will pay for a wide variety of building and athletic facilities upgrades throughout the school system, starting in the spring of 2022.

Tuesday, May 04, 2021
Friday, April 30, 2021
Wednesday, April 28, 2021
Saturday, April 24, 2021
Friday, April 23, 2021

In preparation for the opening of the new Bronson South Haven hospital in late May, four specialty medical practices are moving from the current hospital to new office locations.

SOUTH HAVEN — Voters in the South Haven Public School district will decide whether to approve a $34.85 million bond issue, which would lead to a variety of building and athletic facility improvements.

Thursday, April 22, 2021
Wednesday, April 21, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — As hummingbirds make their way back to Southwest Michigan this month, it’s only fitting the latest outdoor sculpture in South Haven depicts a large hummingbird gathering nectar from a flower.

Saturday, April 17, 2021
Friday, April 16, 2021
Thursday, April 15, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — Nearly 400 communities in Michigan are located in coastal areas. Two of those areas in Southwest Michigan – South Haven and Chikaming Township – are part of a two-year Michigan State University study that will detail how erosion and changing weather patterns are changing Michig…

Tuesday, April 13, 2021
Thursday, April 08, 2021
Wednesday, April 07, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — Some residents of South Haven know Jennifer Sistrunk for the brochures, logos and billboards she has designed for clients in Southwest Michigan. Others know her as the advertising and marketing manager for Clementine’s and HawksHead restaurants in South Haven and Clementine’s T…

Tuesday, April 06, 2021
Saturday, April 03, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — For the past year the seven activity centers operated by Senor Services of Van Buren County have remained closed due to health restrictions associated with the COVID-19 pandemic. But that hasn’t stopped the nonprofit’s board of directors and staff from undertaking the ambitious…

Friday, March 26, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — For 100 years, a group of South Haven area community leaders has gathered at noon every Monday to grab a bite to eat, socialize, listen to a program, and then brainstorm about ways to help the community.

Wednesday, March 24, 2021
Thursday, March 18, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — In 2020 South Haven became one of only four cities in the state to earn the designation of Pure Michigan Trail Town. This year, three groups will capitalize on that distinction by creating more bike racks downtown.

SOUTH HAVEN — Several governmental agencies in South Haven are working together, along with the South Haven/Van Buren County Convention and Visitors Bureau and South Haven Area Chamber of Commerce, to increase outdoor recreational opportunities for local residents and visitors.

SOUTH HAVEN — On the heels of South Haven city officials’ decision earlier this month to cancel the popular Fourth of July fireworks display, organizers of another popular summertime event have announced they too, will be canceling their festival for 2021.

Tuesday, March 16, 2021

SOUTH HAVEN — When the Mars rover Perseverance landed on the red planet on Feb. 18, people viewing on TV may have assumed engineers and scientists gathered in NASA’s control room were the only ones involved with the project.

Saturday, March 13, 2021
Friday, March 12, 2021
Wednesday, March 10, 2021
Saturday, March 06, 2021
Thursday, March 04, 2021
Wednesday, March 03, 2021