We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Thursday, November 07, 2019

WATERVLIET — Commissioners on Tuesday received a positive report from the city’s outside auditor, then took up a variety of issues – ranging from an upgrade of the municipal website to acquiring road salt for the approaching winter.

Wednesday, October 23, 2019

WATERVLIET — Township trustees voted Monday to join with Watervliet Public Schools and the City of Watervliet in funding improved pedestrian-traffic equipment on the Red Arrow Arrow Highway, across from the high school.

Thursday, October 03, 2019

WATERVLIET — City commissioners worked through a number of fiscal-housekeeping items – paying bills that ranged in scope from substantial to relatively modest – at Tuesday’s regular monthly meeting.

Sunday, September 29, 2019

WATERVLIET — Dan Soard paces back and forth behind a line of monitors as the steady drum of mouse clicks resonate in the computer room at Watervliet High School.

Thursday, September 19, 2019

In response to cases of Eastern Equine Encephalitis confirmed in Southwest Michigan, including three deaths, officials in several area school districts have announced precautions. 

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

WATERVLIET — Township trustees on Monday approved a plan under which the municipality’s mercury-vapor and sodium-vapor streetlights will be replaced with LED fixtures as part of a state-backed plan.

Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Wednesday, September 04, 2019

WATERVLIET — City commissioners approved a number of diverse items at Tuesday night’s meeting, including a major change to the city’s street-lighting system, purchase of a new piece of city maintenance equipment, and creation of a fee system when city police officers provide court-ordered Br…

Saturday, August 24, 2019

WATERVLIET — “Actually, I’ve never painted before,” confided Watervliet High School freshman Ava Selby, standing – paintbrush in hand – in Watervliet’s Flaherty Park on Friday. “It’s fun.”

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

WATERVLIET — Township trustees on Monday approved spending $15,000 to install firefighting-related equipment – known as a “dry hydrant” – beside Paw Paw Lake.

Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Thursday, August 08, 2019

WATERVLIET — Watervliet city commissioners got an update Tuesday night on how the city’s ambitious infrastructure-upgrade effort, known as the Asset Management Plan, is progressing.

Tuesday, July 30, 2019

WATERVLIET — A Coloma man died during a kayaking trip Sunday night along the Paw Paw River, police reported.

Tuesday, July 09, 2019
Thursday, July 04, 2019

WATERVLIET — City commissioners on Tuesday unanimously approved the $20,000 purchase of a currently unused property at 390 N. Main Street. The move is the first element of a two-step transaction in which the Downtown Development Authority will be the ultimate buyer of the space.

Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019

WATERVLIET — Township trustees unanimously approved a medical marijuana ordinance Monday evening, clearing the way for potential growers and sellers to set up operations in the township – after they complete the permitting process.

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

WATERVLIET — Graduating seniors at Watervliet High School were infants the last time the district’s English Language Arts (ELA) curriculum was updated.

Thursday, June 06, 2019

WATERVLIET — City commissioners moved Tuesday night to defer an earlier plan to fix long standing erosion and drainage problems along High View Street, opting instead for a temporary repair while pursuing alternative funding.

Tuesday, May 14, 2019

WATERVLIET — High school boys at Watervliet High School will have the option to try out for soccer next fall.

Thursday, April 25, 2019

WATERVLIET — When city commissioners on Tuesday took up the controversial question of restricting the size of pole barns on residential lots, they got an earful from local residents – on both sides of the issue.

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

WATERVLIET — The township board inched closer Monday to approving the sale of medical marijuana, but concerns surfaced about how close to residential properties marijuana sales outlets could be.

Thursday, April 04, 2019

WATERVLIET — City commissioners on Tuesday took care of a number of relatively routine fiscal-housekeeping items, but one unusual item did emerge – the construction of a large pole barn in town that has some folks upset. 

Monday, April 01, 2019

COLOMA — As people flocked to their respective churches Sunday morning, members of The River, a church in Watervliet, spread out into the community. 

Saturday, March 30, 2019

WATERVLIET — Watervliet’s new superintendent will come into the district making just a little less money than the previous one did. 

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

WATERVLIET — Watervliet Township trustees formally signed off Monday on a long-in-development new parks and recreation plan, and also got an update on progress of a plan to legalize medical marijuana sales and production in the township.

Wednesday, March 13, 2019

WATERVLIET — The Watervliet school board made a unanimous decision Tuesday night regarding who they want to hire as the district’s new superintendent. 

Friday, March 08, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019

WATERVLIET — Watervliet Township trustees heard an update Monday night on the status of an ambitious new five-year parks and recreation plan being developed, and appear poised to formally approve the plan at next month’s board meeting.

Thursday, January 24, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018

WATERVLIET — Retired Brandywine Superintendent John Jarpe will now lead Watervliet Public Schools, at least for the time being.

Monday, December 10, 2018

During the day, John Andrasi is a senior technician in the Washer Development Lab at Whirlpool Corp., but on nights and weekends, he is teaching kids about shooting sports. 

Thursday, December 06, 2018
Wednesday, December 05, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018

WATERVLIET — It’s not Christmastime in Watervliet until the Hometown Christmas celebration next weekend. 

Sunday, November 25, 2018

ST. JOSEPH — Now that the outdoor Christmas lights are up, it’s time to think about spring.

Thursday, November 22, 2018

WATERVLIET — Watervliet Township Trustees agree they need to make it known their opinion on medical and recreation marijuana, because entrepreneurs and voters in the township want it. 

Monday, November 19, 2018

WATERVLIET — Grace Chisek and Abby Lomoro may only be seventh-graders, but they say they’re already preparing for the real world. 

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

WATERVLIET — Watervliet's map of its underground infrastructure has about 40 more pipes on it than it did two and a half years ago.