We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Saturday, September 05, 2020
Wednesday, September 02, 2020

WATERVLIET — Police are continuing to investigate a crash near Watervliet that they say left a Hartford man with non-life threatening but potentially paralyzing injuries.

Saturday, August 29, 2020
Tuesday, August 04, 2020
Tuesday, June 09, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Before school districts shuttered their doors this week, administrators were working with the state to provide breakfast and lunch options for students in the event of a prolonged closure.

Wednesday, March 04, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020

WATERVLIET — Watervliet Township trustees got an update Monday night on an ambitious effort to broaden the makeup of the citizen appointees who staff the various boards that oversee important – but often low-profile – civic operations.

Thursday, February 06, 2020

WATERVLIET — City commissioners, acting on a recommendation from City Manager R. Tyler Dotson, voted Tuesday to raise the pay of two prominent city employees.

Thursday, January 23, 2020
Saturday, January 18, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Thursday, January 09, 2020

WATERVLIET — Before a standing-room-only audience Tuesday evening, city commissioners took up the legally complex and contentious issue of whether to grant a church permission to buy and renovate a shuttered property in the downtown business district.

Wednesday, December 18, 2019

WATERVLIET — Watervliet Township trustees learned Monday evening that the township’s recent request for a $150,000 grant from the Michigan Department of Natural Resources – aimed at helping develop the site known as Airport Park – was not approved.

Monday, December 16, 2019
  • Updated

WATERVLIET — Berrien County’s most northern county park will soon become about 63 acres bigger.

Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Thursday, December 05, 2019
  • Updated

WATERVLIET — City commissioners on Tuesday heard a largely upbeat update on progress of the infrastructure overhaul known as the Citywide Asset Management Plan – but also learned that one element of the ambitious effort has been moving with disappointing slowness.

Friday, November 22, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
  • Updated

WATERVLIET — Watervliet Township trustees voted Monday evening to accept the mid-term resignation of board member Matthew Clay, then promptly named retired educator Glen Giannetti to succeed Clay.

Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 07, 2019

WATERVLIET — Commissioners on Tuesday received a positive report from the city’s outside auditor, then took up a variety of issues – ranging from an upgrade of the municipal website to acquiring road salt for the approaching winter.

Wednesday, October 23, 2019

WATERVLIET — Township trustees voted Monday to join with Watervliet Public Schools and the City of Watervliet in funding improved pedestrian-traffic equipment on the Red Arrow Arrow Highway, across from the high school.

Thursday, October 03, 2019

WATERVLIET — City commissioners worked through a number of fiscal-housekeeping items – paying bills that ranged in scope from substantial to relatively modest – at Tuesday’s regular monthly meeting.

Sunday, September 29, 2019
  • Updated

WATERVLIET — Dan Soard paces back and forth behind a line of monitors as the steady drum of mouse clicks resonate in the computer room at Watervliet High School.

Thursday, September 19, 2019
  • Updated

In response to cases of Eastern Equine Encephalitis confirmed in Southwest Michigan, including three deaths, officials in several area school districts have announced precautions. 

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

WATERVLIET — Township trustees on Monday approved a plan under which the municipality’s mercury-vapor and sodium-vapor streetlights will be replaced with LED fixtures as part of a state-backed plan.

Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Wednesday, September 04, 2019

WATERVLIET — City commissioners approved a number of diverse items at Tuesday night’s meeting, including a major change to the city’s street-lighting system, purchase of a new piece of city maintenance equipment, and creation of a fee system when city police officers provide court-ordered Br…

Saturday, August 24, 2019
  • Updated

WATERVLIET — “Actually, I’ve never painted before,” confided Watervliet High School freshman Ava Selby, standing – paintbrush in hand – in Watervliet’s Flaherty Park on Friday. “It’s fun.”

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

WATERVLIET — Township trustees on Monday approved spending $15,000 to install firefighting-related equipment – known as a “dry hydrant” – beside Paw Paw Lake.

Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Thursday, August 08, 2019

WATERVLIET — Watervliet city commissioners got an update Tuesday night on how the city’s ambitious infrastructure-upgrade effort, known as the Asset Management Plan, is progressing.

Tuesday, July 30, 2019

WATERVLIET — A Coloma man died during a kayaking trip Sunday night along the Paw Paw River, police reported.

Tuesday, July 09, 2019
Thursday, July 04, 2019

WATERVLIET — City commissioners on Tuesday unanimously approved the $20,000 purchase of a currently unused property at 390 N. Main Street. The move is the first element of a two-step transaction in which the Downtown Development Authority will be the ultimate buyer of the space.

Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
  • Updated

WATERVLIET — Township trustees unanimously approved a medical marijuana ordinance Monday evening, clearing the way for potential growers and sellers to set up operations in the township – after they complete the permitting process.

Wednesday, June 12, 2019
  • Updated

WATERVLIET — Graduating seniors at Watervliet High School were infants the last time the district’s English Language Arts (ELA) curriculum was updated.

Thursday, June 06, 2019
  • Updated

WATERVLIET — City commissioners moved Tuesday night to defer an earlier plan to fix long standing erosion and drainage problems along High View Street, opting instead for a temporary repair while pursuing alternative funding.

Tuesday, May 14, 2019
  • Updated

WATERVLIET — High school boys at Watervliet High School will have the option to try out for soccer next fall.

Thursday, April 25, 2019
  • Updated

WATERVLIET — When city commissioners on Tuesday took up the controversial question of restricting the size of pole barns on residential lots, they got an earful from local residents – on both sides of the issue.

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

WATERVLIET — The township board inched closer Monday to approving the sale of medical marijuana, but concerns surfaced about how close to residential properties marijuana sales outlets could be.