Foundations award $100K in scholarships, grants

Through the Allied Health Careers Scholarship program, Lakeland Health Foundations recently awarded $39,500 in scholarships to Spectrum Health Lakeland employees and area students pursuing a career in health care.

Another $60,500 will be awarded in department grants to support continuing education opportunities for Lakeland employees.

During the past 25 years, Lakeland Health Foundations have awarded more than $1.5 million to employees, departments and volunteers, largely through endowments.

During the scholarship ceremony, Brandi Smith, vice president of philanthropy and president of Lakeland Health Foundations, presented Brendon Beede, project manager of Information Technology, and Barbara Schmidtman, manager of Radiation Oncology and Ambulatory Infusion, with the organization’s Leo Soorus Leadership Award to honor their collaboration on a virtual reality application for infusion services.

While patients receive chemotherapy and other infusion services, they can use VR to take them outside the clinical setting while helping relieve some of their stress.

The award and grant honors Soorus’ many contributions to Southwest Michigan as a Lakeland executive and as a leader of community and professional organizations.

Honor announces scholarship winners

Honor Credit Union recently awarded $1,000 Community Commitment Scholarship to 25 Michigan students, including several in Southwest Michigan.

Part of the application was an emphasis on community involvement and extracurricular activities.

The winners were:

• Keshunn Alexander – Benton Harbor High School

• Megan Adkerson – Buchanan High School

• Kelsey Verran – Decatur High School

• Mae Hartsig – Dowagiac Union High School

• Chloe Bartz – Edwardsburg High School

• Rebecca Ashby – Lakeshore High School

• Hannah Scameheorn – Lakeshore High School

• Taylor Bartley – Michigan Lutheran High School

• Nick Mitchell – Michigan Lutheran High School

• Sean McLaughlin – Paw Paw High School

• Kurtis Carr – Paw Paw High School

• Erin Penner – St. Joseph High School

• Erin Maddix – St. Joseph High School

• Madeline Teresko – Watervliet High School

• Emma Kraklau – Watervliet High School

MARSP names scholarship recipients

The Berrien County Chapter of the Michigan Association of School Personnel recently awarded five $1,500 Dorothy Hawks scholarships to area students.

The students must attend a Michigan college, and go into teaching.

The winners were Natalie Rush, Lindsey Ebeling, Nicole Mucha, Keegan Downey and Nicole Oman.

For more information about MARSP, visit