SOUTH HAVEN — Awards and recognitions were presented to members of South Haven Area Emergency Services during the department’s annual dinner this month.

Paul Quinn was chosen by his peers as the Firefighter of the Year. A member of the department’s paid-on-call staff for 25 years, he heads up the department’s fire prevention initiatives.

“Paul has contributed countless hours dedicated to the citizens of our coverage area,” Chief Ron Wise said in a news release. “Through his leadership, he has helped SHAES bring the fire prevention message to young and older people in the community.”

The department’s Leadership Award was presented to James D. Quinn. Now in his 18th year as a full-time member of the department, James D. Quinn was recognized for the job he has done increasing the department’s level of skill and knowledge. He also leads the department’s Honor Guard.

“J.D. is a leader by example,” Wise said. “He has a desire to answer the call for help with passion and professionalism.”

Paul and J.D. are brothers. Their father, James A. Quinn, also a SHAES member, was the 2017-18 Firefighter of the Year.

Wise also lauded the department-wide life-saving initiatives of the past year: “SHAES staff performed CPR on many patients over the last year. Their efforts made a considerable difference in the lives of our residents as well as guests that passed through the South Haven area.”

Ross Burnside, Steven Cavadas, Roseanna Fox, David Griessel, Dustin Guminski, Dawn Hinz, Brian Horan Jr., Brian Horan Sr., Zachary Kenreich, Thomas Leva, Brian Montgomery, James A. Quinn, James D. Quinn, Johanna Quinn, Patrick Quinn, Paul Quinn, Phillip Quinn, Shawn Quinn, Tim Quinn, Owen Ridley, Ronald Ridley, Matthew Russell, Bill Snider, Shawn Smith, Tim Vanholt and Ronald Washegesic were presented “I Made CPR Count” pins.

Brian Horan Sr. was presented a Compassion Award for giving special care during the rescue of a trapped horse.

Deputy Chief Tony Marsala also announced his retirement. He will end 33 years of service on June 7.

Years of service awards were presented to Ronald Ridley, 40 years; Stanley Wakild, 35 years; Paul Quinn, 25 years; Brandon Hinz, 20 years; Montgomery, Patrick Quinn and Timothy Quinn, 10 years; Russell, Willie Wright, Washegesic, Johanna Quinn and Cavadas, five years.

Welcomed as new paid-on-call members were Matthew Dey, Ross Burnside, Shawn Quinn and Alexis Ridley.

Kenreich was promoted to full-time firefighter/paramedic, and Cavadas was hired as full-time assistant fire inspector.