SOUTH HAVEN — A brewery in town is leading the way to create a fundraiser that will benefit South Haven Public Schools Foundation.

Three Blondes Brewing is organizing “1875 Giveback,” a fundraising raffle named after the company’s address at 1875 Phoenix Road in South Haven.

The raffle drawing will take place at 8 p.m., March 17, when the grand prize, a 2019 Kawasaki Mule 4010 trans 4x4 utility vehicle, will be given away at Three Blondes Brewing. More prizes will also be given away that evening. Raffle tickets are $20 each and are available at the brewery, VanDerZee Motorplex, Wolverine Hardware, all schools in the South Haven Public School district, and from foundation members. Raffle ticket purchases are tax deductible. If 300 tickets are not sold, the drawing will revert to a 50/50 raffle with a minimum prize of $2,000 awarded.

Three Blondes Brewing and VanDerZee Motorplex will both pitch in to donate the Mule for the raffle.

“While Three Blondes Brewing opened June 14th, VanDerZee Motorplex is entering its 28th year in South Haven,” said Ray VanDerZee, owner of VanDerZee Motorplex and father of the three women who own Three Blondes Brewing. “1875 Giveback is our way to show appreciation for the support of our South Haven community.”

Fundraisers such as the 1875 Giveback play a crucial role for the education foundation, according to member John Weiss, former Baseline Middle School principal.

“The foundation awards grants to teachers who want to create new innovative teaching practices,” he said. “We attempt to reach as many students as possible.”

Since its inception in 2012, the foundation has awarded grants for technology programs, literacy projects, robotics, the fine arts, the history club and programs that promote life skills and mental health awareness.

Twice a year the foundation awards five $500 grants to teachers who apply for grants. To date the foundation has awarded 65 grants, totaling $33,193, to teachers, along with a $14,000 technology grant to the school district courtesy of the Albemarle Corp. and its foundation.

Foundation members are Dene Hadden, Lynn Kerber, Fred Leavitt, Jeff Postma, Stuart Price, Barry Skuza, Jim Vanderkolk, John Weiss and Wilma Wilson.