SOUTH HAVEN — South Haven Mayor Scott Smith will be seeking his second term of office, this time without competition.

Smith will be running unopposed in the upcoming November election, according to South Haven city clerk Travis Sullivan. Smith, 36 Bluffwood Drive, was first elected by voters in 2017 after defeating challenger Paul VandenBosch.

South Haven city residents had until Tuesday to submit candidate petitions for the offices of mayor and city council.

In addition to Smith, five other city residents filed petitions for three city council seats now occupied by Letitia Wilkins, Clark Gruber and Steve Schlack.

South Haven is divided into three wards. Two council members serve each of the three wards, and serve in staggered four-year terms.

In Ward 1, incumbent Letitia Wilkins, 811 Indiana Ave., will be seeking re-election and is running unopposed.

In Ward 2, Gruber is not seeking re-election due to term limits. Two other candidates will be competing for his seat: former city council member Jeff Arnold, 558 Bailey Ave., and newcomer Nadine Newman, 270 Itzen Ct.

In Ward 3, Schlack, 884 E. Wells St., will face newcomer Liji Hanny, 840 Wilson St., in November.

The candidates could have squared off sooner in the August primary, but not enough candidates turned in petitions, according to Sullivan.

“There will be no primary in August, as we do not have more than two candidates for any seat,” he said. “All candidates will be included on the November general election ballot.”