We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Saturday, December 07, 2019
  • Updated

Snowy owls have been turning up over the past few weeks over the southern Great Lakes, including two sightings in Berrien County.

  • Updated

Fishermen don’t need to find new places to spend money on tackle, but sometimes those places seem to find us.

  • Updated

It’s hard for me to pick just one story to write about that centers on hunting in Michigan, because there have been so many outstanding experiences to choose from.

  • Updated

Sarett Nature Center

Friday, December 06, 2019
Thursday, December 05, 2019

After winning its second state championship last season, Coloma’s girls bowling team is looking for more success.

Wednesday, December 04, 2019
Tuesday, December 03, 2019
Monday, December 02, 2019
Saturday, November 30, 2019

Bald eagles are being seen around Southwest Michigan, mostly along the Lake Michigan shoreline. One such bird was seen on November 16 at Warren Dunes State Park by Brad Anderson. The eagle in the photo is not an adult because it lacks a white head and all-white tail.

Friday, November 29, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019

St. Joseph's girls basketball team has high hopes for the 2019-20 season.

Tuesday, November 26, 2019

It was a homecoming of sorts for Denny Dock on Monday.

Saturday, November 23, 2019

A short-eared owl was found on November 14 at the corner of Linco and South Scottdale roads in Oronoko Township by Mary Jo Canaday.

Black Friday. If you think about it, those two words are about as ominous as two words can be. I wondered where the term came from, what the day after a favorite family holiday, so I turned to the Interweb.

South Haven junior Ellie Frost will defend her state championship in the 50-meter freestyle today in the Division 3 girls swimming state finals at Oakland University.

Thursday, November 21, 2019

Sorry Michigan fans, but THE GAME is Saturday when No. 9 Penn State (9-1) travels to Columbus to take on No. 2 Ohio State (10-0) for the Big Ten West Division title.

Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Lakeshore football coach Bryan Keim resigned on Monday, ending a six-year stint as the Lancers’ coach with a 39-23 overall record.

Monday, November 18, 2019
Saturday, November 16, 2019

Look for a large, plump sparrow with a rusty tail, a gray and rusty back, and a white chest with rusty spots. These are characteristics of the fox sparrow, which is now being seen eating seeds that have fallen from bird feeders. Brad Anderson captured an image of a fox sparrow on November 10…

GALESBURG – Thanks to a nifty smartphone app that randomly selects numbers, all of the tournament entry fees in the Second Annual Mainstream Outdoors Kayak Gator Grab were awarded. Otherwise, we’re not sure what would have happened to the $25 each of the six of us contestants put into the ki…

The Southwest Michigan Eight-Man Football League will expand from seven schools to 10, beginning with the 2020 season.

Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019

BERRIEN SPRINGS — The Andrews University men and women’s basketball teams christened the new Andreason Center with wins over Lake Michigan College on Wednesday night.

After watching Michigan State's befuddling, inexcusable loss to Illinois last Saturday, the Spartans' fourth-straight defeat, it would be very difficult for the MSU faithful (including myself) to get fired up for this Saturday's game in the Big House.

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

Lakeshore graduate Dylan Sing and St. Joseph graduate Jaylen Shannon have helped Western Michigan to a strong men’s soccer season.

Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Saturday, November 09, 2019

LAWTON — It was only fitting that Brandywine and Bridgman's volleyball teams needed five sets to determine a Division 3 district champion.