We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Saturday, March 06, 2021

ST. JOSEPH — Lake Michigan Catholic's girls basketball team is used to playing in close games this season, especially when it comes to Bridgman.

The sight of the bird warmed my heart. It triple-hopped and paused, then triple-hopped and paused again amongst patches of brown earth amongst the receding snow on the St. Joseph riverbank. I watched as we three anglers waited for the first steelhead bite of the morning. The red-breasted rob…

Friday, March 05, 2021
Thursday, March 04, 2021
Wednesday, March 03, 2021

WATERVLIET — Watervliet's girls basketball team didn't have Southwestern Athletic Conference Lakeshore Division champions on its list of goals at the start of the season. But after their eighth straight win, that title is in the Panthers' sights now.

Tuesday, March 02, 2021

St. Joseph’s Troy Pratley has been awarded a Michigan High School Athletic Association Scholar-Athlete Award, earning a $1,000 college scholarship.

Lakeshore's rated wrestling team remained undefeated Saturday defeating Battle Creek Harper Creek 59-21, Plainwell 59-12, and South Haven 57-23 at the South Haven quad.

Saturday, February 27, 2021

The most exciting bird to show up in Southwest Michigan this winter is a king eider duck, initially discovered on Feb. 19 off the North Pier at St. Joseph by Tim Baerwald of Bainbridge Township.

Friday, February 26, 2021
Thursday, February 25, 2021
Wednesday, February 24, 2021
Tuesday, February 23, 2021

NILES — Benton Harbor looked like it might start to pull away entering the third quarter of Monday night's boys basketball game against Brandywine, but the Bobcats put on a furious second-half run to make a close game of it.

Lakeshore's ranked wrestling team remained undefeated Saturday, surviving a close call at home with ranked Middleville Thornapple Kellogg.

Saturday, February 20, 2021

The advice on Facebook to the guy who had just bought a new kayak and wanted rigging suggestions was a little off topic, but definitely spot on.

Friday, February 19, 2021

ST. JOSEPH — St. Joseph's boys basketball team had both its depth and playmaking ability on display Thursday night.

Thursday, February 18, 2021

BENTON HARBOR — Benton Harbor is still adjusting to a new lineup, but the Tigers showed how good they can be when everything clicks in Wednesday's 81-54 boys basketball victory over Dowagiac.

Wednesday, February 17, 2021

HS WRESTLING

Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Saturday, February 13, 2021

BRIDGMAN — A closely contested matchup between Lake Michigan Catholic and Bridgman's girls basketball teams came down to a pair of free throws in the game's final seconds.

Brad Anderson captured the image of a red-shouldered hawk on Jan. 25, on the south side of Browntown Road, near the intersection of Baldwin Road in Chikaming Township.

Friday, February 12, 2021

Area prep wrestlers escaped a possible pandemic pin last week when the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services loosened restrictions on contact winter sports.