Unseeded Stampfly wins big at Div. 2 wrestling district

Kyle Stampfly

STEVENSVILLE — Lakeshore freshman Kyle Stampfly stole the show here Saturday at the Division 2 individual wrestling district.

Stampfly, who entered the tournament unseeded with a 14-15 record won the 119-pound district championship knocking off the No. 2 and 3 seeds before claiming the crown when top-seed Payton McDurman of Gull Lake was forced to forfeit due to injury.

Stampfly said he felt stronger moving up a weight class and attributed his success "to a lot of hard work and tough competition during the regular season." 

"I got a break with that default in the championship, but it is what it is," Stampfly, now 18-15 stated. "I really didn't expect to walk out of here being district champion."

"I don't ever recall having an unseeded wrestler win a district title," noted Bruce Bittenbender, Lakeshore coach now in his 50th year as a head mat coach. "Kyle just did a remarkable job today, and it goes to show the tough schedule we wrestle each year pays off come tournament time."

Stampfly, the son of Lakeshore Middle School wrestling coach Leo Stampfly, won a 11-2 major decision in his first match over Harper Creek's Greylon Dishman, then beat 3-seed Logan Pike of Coldwater 9-4, and pinned 2-seed Ahmed Omar of Coldwater in 5:47 in the semfinals.

He was one of four Lakeshore champions along with Micah Hanau (125), Shane Williams (130) and Zeke Rohl (215). Hanau improved to 31-4, Williams 30-1, and Rohl 28-5. A total of seven Lancer grapplers advanced on to regional competition next Saturday at Vicksburg as the top four placers in each weight class advance.

Division 2 power Niles had a dozen move on, including six district champions in Jamison Zimmerman (31-4 at 103), Javond Ball (31-7 at 135), Kade Wagley (33-7 at 140), Cade Best (30-7 at 171), Dawson Bruckner (34-7 at 189), and heavyweight Brian Soto (27-4).

"We had another good day getting 12 out, with six champs, but I would have preferred getting 13 out, but that's just the way I am," quipped Vikings coach Todd Hesson.

St. Joseph advanced four wrestlers including runner-up freshman Jacob Halsey at 112. Issac Meyer (130) and Drake Collins (171), were both third, and freshman Jack Sherman (103). Halsey (34-6), battling an illness all day, won three matches before getting pinned in the final.

"He was sick, and totally out of gas, and we just wanted him to default that championship match," explained St. Joseph coach Taylor Misel. "But he insisted on giving it a try. If he wasn't such a competitor, he wouldn't have even gotten out the way he felt."

Championship round

103 - Jamison Zimmerman (Niles) d. Cameron Litaker (Lakeshore) 4-2.

112 - Cam Sanderson (Mattawan) p. Jacob Halsey (St. Joseph) 1:10.

119 - Kyle Stampfly (Lakeshore) forfeit over Payton McDurman (Gull Lake).

125 - Micah Hanau (Lakeshore) d. Noah Booton (Marshall) 10-3.

130 - Shane Williams (Lakeshore) m.d. Bryce Brust (Niles) 15-6.

135 - Javond Ball (Niles) d. Jackson Hoover (Edwardsburg) 3-1.

140 - Kade Wagley (Niles) p. Jacob Reece (Edwardsburg) 0:42.

145 - Dakota Oman (Gull Lake) p. Michael Tatay (Edwardsburg) 1:38.

152 - Anthony Williamson (Mattawan) d. Robert Buckland (Niles) 5-2.

160 - Tyson Ford (Mattawan) p. Cade Reece (Edwardsburg) 3:21.

171 - Cade Best (Niles) d. Griffen Olmstead (Coldwater) 12-9.

189 - Dawson Bruckner (Niles) m.d. James Campbell (Mattawan) 13-5.

215 - Zeke Rohl (Lakeshore) m.d. Ken Krempetz (Niles) 17-4.

Hwt - Brian Soto (Niles) d. Shane Edwards (B.C. Pennfield) 4-3.

Consolation round

103 - Bryce Trimm (Harper Creek) p. Jack Sherman (St. Joseph) 2:15.

112 - Drew Gonzales (Plainwell) p. Marshall Hoard (Coldwater).

119 - Jonathan Gelesko (Lakeshore) p. Pat Ortiz (Gull Lake) 2:02.

125 - Chandler Froehlich (Harper Creek) p. Logan Melvin (Mattawan) 2:48.

130 - Issac Meyer (St. Joseph) forfeit over Zeke Nowicki (Coldwater).

135 - Owen McDaniel (Plainwell) p. Skylar Means (Niles) 2:08.

140 - Carter Hoard (Coldwater) d. Matt Martinez (Harper Creek) 3-0.

145 - Justin Ringling (Mattawan) d. Wink McDonald (Marshall) 9-6.

152 - Erik Taylor (Lakeshore) p. Trevor Brooks (Harper Creek) 0:40.

160 - Cole Simpson (Niles) p. James Seaver (Plainwell) 1:42.

171 - Drake Collins (St. Joseph) d. Jaden Mainstone (Harper Creek) 4-1.

189 - Tanner Hursh (Edwardsburg) m.d. Justin Hankey (Marshall) 17-9.

215 - Tysen Custard (Niles) d. Drew Bidwell (Edwardsburg) 1-0.

Hwt - Dillon Minton (Coldwetar) d. Clark Cole (Coldwater) 11-4.